Rankers Hub

union and territory mcq for ssc cgl

Sambhar Salt Lake is situated in:

(a) Himachal Pradesh

(b) Karnataka

(c) Madhya Pradesh

(d) Rajasthan

Solution: (d)
The Sambhar Salt Lake, India’s largest inland salt lake, sits 96 km south west of the city of Jaipur and 64 km north east of Ajmer along National Highway 8 in Rajasthan. It is India’s largest saline lake and made Rajasthan the third largest salt producing state in India. It produces 196,000 tonnes of clean salt every year, which equals 8.7% of India’s salt production. Salt is produced by evaporation process of brine and is mostly managed by Sambhar Salts Ltd.(SSL), a joint venture of the Hindustan Salts Ltd. and the state government. SSL owns 3% of the eastern lake. Sambhar has been designated as a Ramsar site (recognized wetland of international importance) because the wetland is a key wintering area for tens of thousands of flamingos and other birds that migrate from northern Asia.

Which amongst the following States/UT has not identified tribal community?

(a) Chhattisgarh

(b) Haryana

(c) Maharashtra

(d) Karnataka

Solution: (b)
Punjab, Haryana, Chandigarh, Delhi and Puducherry have no population of Scheduled tribes as per Census 2011. There are 84 million Scheduled Tribe persons in India as counted in the Census.
As per the census 2011,
Mizoram (94.5%) has the highest proportion of Scheduled Tribes in its population. Goa with 0.04% has the lowest ST proportion.
UT with highest proportion is Lakshadweep (94.5%) and lowest is Andaman and Nicobar (8.3%)
District wise – Highest is Sarchhip, in Mizoram (98.1%) & Lowest is Hathras in Uttar Pradesh (0.01%)

As per census, about one third are in the Central Indian region comprising Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and some of the contiguous districts of Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Telanagana and Andhra Pradesh. Another, about a third is in the western region comprising Rajasthan, Gujarat, and several districts of Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra. There are about 8 million Scheduled Tribes in parts of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala. About 2 million Scheduled Tribes are in the northern region of Jammu and Kashmir and the adjoining districts of Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand. The remaining about 14 million Scheduled Tribes are in the eastern region: 4 million in West Bengal, 3 million in Assam and about 7 million in the other six states of the Northeast. Haryana does not have any scheduled tribe community.

Which is the smallest (in the area) of the following Union Territories?

(a) Chandigarh

(b) Dadra and Nagar Haveli

(c) Daman and Diu

(d) Lakshadweep

Solution: (d)
Lakshadweep is a group of islands in the Laccadive Sea, 200 to 440 km off the South Western coast of India. The islands form the smallest Union Territory of India: their total surface area is just 11 sq mi or 32 km2. The lagoon area covers about 4,200 square kilometres, the territorial waters area 20,000 square kilometres and the exclusive economic zone area 400,000 square kilometres. The region forms a single Indian district with ten Sub divisions. Kavaratti serves as the capital of the Union Territory and the region comes under the jurisdiction of Kerala High Court.

The male literacy rate in India according to the 2011 census is–

(a) 45.96 percent

(b) 56.38 percent

(c) 75.85 percent

(d) 82.14 percent

Solution: (d)
As per the 2011 Census, the literacy rate of India increased from 18.33% in 1951 to 64.84% in 2001 and to 74.04% in 2011. The male literacy rate increased to 82.14%. On the other hand, the female literacy is 64.46%.
Other facts:
• Kerala had the highest literary rate with 94 percent in 2011.
• Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, and the capital territory of Delhi followed Kerala with above-average literacy rates.
• Notably, all the leading states in the country had more literate males than females at the time of the census.
• Jains are the most literate community in India.

Which of the following territories does not have a border with Arunachal Pradesh?

(a) Assam

(b) Nagaland

(c) Bhutan

(d) Manipur

Solution: (d)
Manipur is a state in northeastern India, with the city of Imphal as its capital. Manipur consist of Naga, Kuki and Meitei and is bounded by the Indian states of Nagaland to the north, Mizoram to the south and Assam to the west; it also borders Burma to the east. The Meiteis (Meeteis), who live primarily in the state’s valley region, form the primary ethnic group (60% of the total population) but occupy only 10% of the total land area.