Rankers Hub

Honours and awards given on Republic Day

Republic Day

The Republic Day celebration is also the occasion to recognise and honour the brave personnel in the armed forces and police for their exceptional courage in the field, and also to civilians who have performed acts of valour in different situations. Every year on the Republic Day, the President of India during the celebration recognizes and honors the brave personnel in the Armed Forces and police for their exceptional courage in the field and award republic day awards. Along with that, the civilians who have performed acts of valor in different situations are also awarded. There are eight separate categories of awards given to honor the recipients for their work and display of courage in their respective fields. On this 2022 Republic day, First Ever J&K UT Level Tribal Awards Announced On Republic Day Eve 26 Institutions, Individuals Awarded. Let’s know what are the awards given on republic day, and more about these awards and the names of some people who will be receiving these awards this year.

Gallantry Awards

Gallantry Awards

The President honours the country’s military personnel for their show of gallantry and valour with a total of six awards — Param Vir Chakra, Mahavir Chakra, Vir Chakra, Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Shaurya Chakra. Gallantry awards given on republic day are mentioned below:

  • Param Vir Chakra (PVC): India’s highest military decoration is awarded for displaying distinguished acts of valour during wartime. It is granted for “most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy” on land, sea, or in the air.
  • Mahavir Chakra (MVC): The second highest military decoration in India is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air. It replaced the British Distinguished Service Order (DSO).
  • Vir Chakra (VrC): Third in precedence in wartime gallantry awards, Vir Chakra is awarded for acts of bravery on land, air, or sea.
  • Ashoka Chakra: It is India’s highest peacetime military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield. This award can be given to either a military or civilian personnel.
  • Kirti Chakra: The medal is awarded for conspicuous gallantry otherwise than in the face of the enemy. It may be awarded to military personnel, civilian citizens, police personnel including central para-military forces and Railway Protection Force.
  • Shaurya Chakra: The Chakra is awarded for gallantry otherwise than in the face of the enemy. The decoration may be awarded posthumously. It may be awarded to military personnel, civilian citizens, police personnel including central para-military forces and Railway Protection Force.  

This year many army officials like 14 Corps Commander Lt Gen PGK Menon and 15 Corps Commander Lt Gen Devendra Pratap Pandey, Leh airbase Chief Operations Officer Group Captain Ajay Rathi, Army Vice Chief-designate Lt Gen Manoj Pande (in pic), Lt Gen YK Joshi, Lt Gen JS Dhillon, Lt Gen Madhuri Kanitkar, Sepoy Maruprolu Jaswanth Kumar Reddy are being awarded by the President of India for their outstanding, courageous and gallantry acts in their fields.

Neeraj Chopra

Not only these it is import to note that, Tokyo Olympics Gold medalist Subedar Neeraj Chopra of 4 Rajputana Rifles will be awarded with the Param Vishisht Seva Medal for his work in the Olympics. We and the entire nation are proud of all of them and hope they inspire people like always.


The President’s Police Medals

police medals

Established on 1 March 1951, the medals were originally called the President’s Police and Fire Service Medal. The medals may be awarded to any member of a police service without regard to rank or time in service. The President  awards three police medals for meritorious service, for distinguished service, and for gallantry to law enforcement personnel in the country. Recipients of the medal are granted a monthly stipend that is paid to them even in retirement, and upon the recipient’s death it continues to be paid to their surviving spouse.

The Ministry of Home Affairs announced the list of 939 police personnel who have been awarded the medals on the 73rd Republic Day. It announced 189 Gallantry Medals, 88 Police Medals for Distinguished Service and 662 medals for Meritorious Service.

. The medals may be awarded to any member of a police service without regard to rank or time in service.

The President’s Police Medal. It is for Distinguished Service (PPM) is awarded for a long and distinguished service to individuals who have served at least 21 years in the police service or in the central police and security organisations.

The Police Medal for Meritorious Service. This medal is given to police and law enforcement personnel who have stayed committed to their duties for at least 15 years.

The President’s Fire Medals

Similar to the President’s Police Medals, the President’s Fire Medals are awarded to the fire department . This year a total of 42 personnel have been awarded Fire Service Medals.

Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar


This award is given to children under the age of 18 for outstanding achievement in innovation, academic  achievements, or outstanding services in fields such as social service, arts and culture, bravery, or sports. This year 29 children were conferred with the PM Rashtriya Bal Puraskar.

Padma Awards

Padma awards list

Padma Awards were started in 1954 and are awarded to citizens of India for their distinguished contribution in various fields such as education, arts, literature, science, acting, social service and public affairs.

Based on the scale of achievement, the awards are divided in three categories namely Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

Correctional Service Medal

Police Correctional service medal

The President awards prison personnel under three categories – “Distinguished Service”, “Meritorious Service”, and “Gallantry Medals” for their duties in the country’s correctional facilities.

 Civil Defense & Home Guards Medals

On Tuesday, a total of 25 personnel and volunteers were also awarded Home Guard & Civil Defense Medals for their services.

Jeevan Raksha Padak

The All India Committee on Jail Reforms (1980-83) had recommended that Government of India should institute medals for rewarding prison personnel and the State Governments/UT Administrations should suitably recognize special services rendered by the prison personnel. The aforesaid recommendations were further supported by a Group of Officers headed by Shri R.K. Kapoor (1986). The Group of Officers was constituted to examine and review various aspects of administration and management of prisons, especially in the context of security and discipline in prisons and suggest measures for their improvement.

This award is given to a person for saving someone’s life. The award is awarded to civilians to reward saving lives from drowning, fire, or natural calamities. It is awarded for courage and promptitude in saving life under circumstances of grave bodily injury to the rescuer.

It’s also divided into three categories: Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak, Uttam Jeevan Raksha Padak and Jeevan Raksha Padak.

Rankers Hub




Working to bring significant changes in online-based learning by doing extensive research for course curriculum preparation, student engagements, and looking forward to the flexible education!